Sandown Historic Preview

The countdown is on to the finale of the 2018 Hobson Stores MG Road Racing Championship!

37 entries have been confirmed and the round will see a champion crowned once again, a stellar field of cars has come together to showcase the history of the MG brand in it’s sporting best.

The headline acts are the big banger outright cars, and as expected a feature packed group will take to the track lead by reigning champion Phil Chester in his GT V8, joining him at the front will see Robin Bailey, Ben Muller, Vince Gucciardo and Richard Milligan putting five serious outright contenders on the grid. In other V8 entries Michael Wood in his historic B GT V8 and Rodney Gibb in his ZT V8 will be on track, Gibb has recently started to come to grips with the big bad ZT and despite being much bigger than a B GT at the last round was challenging some of the B GT V8’s.

One of the starts is the strong field of 4 cylinder MG B’s, no less than 12 MG B Roadsters will be on the grid ranging from 1963 through to 1975 models with always quick entries of David Anderson, Peter Rose and Henk Zwartaveen to be joined by Winton FoS winner Greg White amongst others. The field of B’s will make a terrific sight into the first corners mid field.

The Triumph contingent are in full force, lead by Keith Ondarchie and Trevor Lindsay’s quick Stag and GT6 respectively. All three Ondarchie’s are on track with Alana, Keith and Alister all out while Ursula Weidenmuller in her TR6 will once again join sparring partner Jim Dodd.  Ed Ferguson and Geoff St John Cox will line up in their TR7 V8’s and the big straights will no doubt work for them well.

Simon Elliott returns in the orange Elan 26R and Jim Robertson in his MG Midget Special both the sole non Triumph or MG powered entrants with Elliott keen to get back behind the wheel and have some fun.

The modern field of MG’s is predominantly MG ZR’s, Barry Pritchett in the only MG TF Cup car entered while Sean Herlihy will run his MG F to represent the F brigade while Chris Gidney leads the ZR’s and is joined by Jim Dodd, Andrew Watson, Tony Vollebregt and Paul Vernall with 5x MG ZR’s on the grid in 2018.

Championship protagonists Chester, Milligan and Gidney will decide the championship across 3x races on Saturday and Sunday with a number of class trophies yet to be decided and will generate some fantastic racing. Make sure you come down to MG Alley for a look!