Four champions headline round 2 entry list

Entries are flowing in for the second round of 2019 presented by Cheeky Goose Café in Cowes is headlined by no less than four former champions and 4x former MG Racing Captains as well. Headline is multiple champion Phil Chester but joined is Andrew Howell, Robin Bailey and Michael Herlihy who each have a single title.  Former captains include Peter Rose, Michael Herlihy, David and Paul Vernall.

The initial entry is 18 entries so far with a few more coming through, the V8 charge being lead by reigning champion Phil Chester who will have to fight off Robin Bailey and Ben Muller in their V8’s, while Vince Gucciardo in his C V8 and Rhys Howell will return in the SV-R.

The Howell’s are hoping to make a mense from sandown and get back on the front foot, “we are hoping to have got a couple of the issues sorted, it’s a testing year but hopefully we make a bit more traction and can fight for a podium” commented Rhys Howell.

Michael Herlihy returns after a hiatus in the familiar MG B, Herlihy won the championship in 2000 and is back aboard the same MG B albeit slightly different these days. Mike is a very accomplished competitor being former MGCC president, former champion, a black spinner award in the MGCC amongst various other awards.  He will lead a four cylinder MG B charge with Peter Rose, Greg White, Gary Bulmer and Darren Souter all lining up.

Invitied British field see’s Barry Pritchett return to the TR6 again for the weekend with Keith Ondarchie, Ed Ferguson and Shirley St John Cox all in Triumphs again.

In modern MG’s we see David Vernall return alongside Jim Dodd in their MG ZR’s with Andrew Howell in the ZR Judd and Paul Vernall in the ZR Turbo.

A final entry update will be available shortly