28 strong field kick off 2020 season


It feels like we just finished the 2019 season with an epic Sandown Historic event and we are gearing up for the opening round of the 2020 season in what is shaping as a bigger and better season once more.

A bumper final entry list after a couple of withdrawals shows the calibre to come over the remainder of 2020, a 28 strong field will take to the circuit with the support of K&S Environmental and Cranbourne MG.

Reigning champion Philip Chester lines up once more in the MontiPower MG B GT V8 and once again has expanded to a two car team with daughter Caelan in an MG F.   The MontiPower team will be taking on Vince Gucciardo in his GB Galvanizing MG CGT V8 while a returning Ben Muller and Robin Bailey will make a battle for the podium an exciting one.

The outright V8 field has seen Rodney Gibb withdraw his ZTV8, while the Howell family have had to delay the re-debut of the MG SV-R after some delays in the rebuild, driver Rhys will instead debut in the MG ZR Judd which while he has tested the car has not driven the vehicle in competition.

The modern field is very different for 2020, Tony Vollebregt returns in the yellow MG ZR after a heartbreaking end to last season. Tony will battle against Adam Ayliffe in the MG ZS who had a very strong run at the final round of 2019 and is excited for what 2020 will bring.  Ayliffe had a very strong result in the wet conditions and will no doubt be hoping for more of the same.  The newest contender for the modern class is Calean Litte Chester, Caelan joins the MontiPower Juniors team in an MG F for 2020, the car campaigned by Sean Herlihy during the 2018 and 2019 seasons.

The historic and classic field is filled with 10 entrants of high quality, the top 3 from 2019 in David Anderson, Greg White and Darren Souter leading the group while stallwarts Peter Rose and Don Mazzone will be ready to pounce. Mother and Son, Jane and Richard Vollebregt will line up with Gary Bulmer, Rodger Chapman, Simon Rogers and Henk Zwartaveen.

Our Invited British contingent features Keith Ondarchie in the silver Stag to be joined by Ian Cowie in his silver TR8.  Barry Pritchett is expecting to return soon in the TR6 but is awaiting on some minor parts and Barry Pritchett will return to the trusty red TR6 and will be out to impress while Bruce Astbury will debut his LE500 that was formerly Vince Gucciardo’s.

The full entry list is below


1 MontiPower Philip Chester MG BGT V8
4 Gary Bulmer MG B
5 Zagame Bruce Astbury MG TF LE500
6 Peter Rose MG B
7 John Stevenson MG TC
9 Gregory White MG B
11 David Mottram MG B
12 GB Galvanizing Service Vincenzo Gucciardo MG MGC
20 Focuslaw.com.au Adam Ayliffe MG ZS 180
25 Ben Muller MG B GT V8
26 historicracing.com.au Simon Rogers MG B Roadster
36 Hema Hydraulics P/L Hendrik Zwarteveen MG B
40 TEAM TRIUMPH RACING – CNW CROYDON Keith Ondarchie Triumph Stag
41 TRacing Barry Pritchett Triumph TR6
44 TEAM TRIUMPH RACING Alana Ondarchie Triumph Stag
46 Richard Vollebregt MG B
48 Anthony Vollebregt MG ZR
49 Aussie Pools Jane Vollebregt MG B
50 Autoprojects Ballarat Robin Bailey MG BGTV8
52 Don Mazzone MG MGB
53 Michael Wood MG BGT V8
66 Eclipse Signage James Dodd MG ZR
69 Aussie Pools Maintenance Warragul Darren Souter MGB B
70 CSI International Ian Cowie Triumph TR8
71 MontiPower Juniors Caelan Litte Chester MG F Trophy
82 Aussie Pools Rodger Chapman MG MGB Roadster
90 Admarco & Bendigo Innovative Kitchens Rhys Howell MG ZR Judd
666 Aussie Pools maintenance warragul David Anderson MG B Roadster