2018 Champions Celebrated

Our 2018 Hobson Stores MG Racing Champions have been celebrated with a number of awards given out amongst family and friends of MG Racing including MGCC board and various officials and volunteers.

Our 2018 Champion is Phil Chester who pipped Chris Gidney and Richard Milligan for the podium placings.  A number of class winners were appointed including Greg White for Group S, Paul Vernall in Open 1 and Tony Vollebergt in Modern 2, all who have not won those classifications before.

Greg White explained his surprise to win for 2018, “I didn’t really think about it so it’s a bit of a surprise, I knew we did okay with the win at Winton mid year but didn’t expect this so it’s a great result to pick up the win for Group S.  We certainly don’t have the fastest car but reliability and consistency have helped us our a lot”.

Trevor Dunford took home the silverware for Classic 2 and the PIPA award and was overwhelmed, “This is amazing, it’s been a lot of fun this year and I didn’t expect to have so much fun with a great bunch of people.  I came from Group S and there was just too much carnage but the racing is fun, fair and we have fun between races. What more can I want? I am definitely back in 2019 now it’s been too much fun”

The outright podium place getters all commented on a great year;

3rd Place – Richard Milligan

“This year meant a lot to me, as many people know we lost Paul Trevethan and my car was built by Paul so it meant a lot to be up here, it would of mean a lot to get the top spot but well done to Phil on a great year.  We have had a few challenges during the year but its all the great people who helped out in my team, Lily, Ben, Damien and the rest of the team that helped get us this result. A big thank you to the committee for all the hard work to make another successful year and looking forward to 2019 already”

2nd Place – Chris Gidney

“This year has been a great success, it wouldn’t of happened without Andrew Church, Jason Holmes, my partner Eden, Mum, and most of all my mechanic who has spent tireless hours on the car to make it reliable in 2018.  Congratulations to Richard and Phil”

1st Place – Phil Chester

“It’s been a big year, and well done to Richard and Chris for being up here.  For me there have been a heap of people help out in 2018, Joe, Ian, Vince, my brother Paul, my Mum who is here tonight, my daughters Caelan and Maddy.  The committee, the MGCC and everyone else.  It’s been a great year and I am honoured to have my name up here again,  I have been around a few categories and this is one of the best so it feels good to get this again”

Captain Paul Vernall made mention of a number of people that helped the series in 2018 earlier in the night “its been a big year, 50 competitors across 5 rounds in 2018, SA, NSW and Victorian people coming together, we have new racers, second generation racers and new cars. 2019 will be even bigger with Sydney on the radar as well.  It’s all happened because of the great support of the MGCC Victoria, all the flaggies, officials, etc. and not least a great bunch of people”

The full winners list is below and 2019 calendar will be announced shortly

Full Winners List:

1st Outright  –  Phil Chester  –  MG B GT V8
2nd Outright  –  Chris Gidney  –  MG ZR
3rd Outright  –  Richard Milligan  –  MG B V8 Roadster

Clubman Award  –  Ryan Lednar
Captains Award  –  Vince Gucciardo

Open 1  –  Paul Vernall (MG ZR)
Open 2  –  Phil Chester (MG B GT V8)
Open 3  –  Barry Pritchett (MG TF Cup)
Modern 1  – Chris Gidney (MG ZR)
Modern 2 – Tony Vollebregt (MG ZR)
Classic 2 – Trevor Dunford (MG B GT V8)
Group S  – Greg White (MG B Roadster)
IB 1  –  Geoff St john Cox (Triumph TR7 V8)
IB 2  –  Trevor Lindsay (Triumph GT6)

Rookie of the Year  –  Sean Herlihy  (MG F)
Burnt Conrod Awards  –  Richard Milligan  (MG B V8 Roadster)
Link MG F Award – Sean Herlihy (MG F)
Phillip Island Index of Performance  –  Trevor Dunford  (MG B GT V8)